Skip to content

Book Review

July 24, 2011
In Fashion by Annemarie Iverson

 

One thing you probably do not know about me: I am a very big reader. So even though I have about 100 books residing on my bookshelf at the moment (fashion related or not!), IN FASHION: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break into the Fashion Industry by Annemarie Iverson has to be one of my favorites. I actually spotted the bold red and zebra cover in the window of a bookstore in June, and of course I had to go in and see it! After about 15 minutes of reading, I decided to buy it and I am so glad that I did! As the title suggests, IN FASHION is bascially a guidebook to getting a career in the fashion world. From attending the right schools to acing your dream job interview, it covers all sorts of areas: designers (like me!), models, photographers, buyers, models, stylists, PR, sales, and working at a fashion magazine.

 
Even though she was born and raised in Wisconsin, Annemarie Iverson has spent many years in the industry, and was the editor in chief of Seventeen and YM, as well as being the beauty and fashion news director of Harper’s Bazaar. She is now the Senior Vice President, Creative Brand Development, at Bobbi Brown Cosmetics. As a result, a good portion of this book is geared towards the magazine (or Critic) section, but don’t worry if that’s not your path! The beginning of the book has a “Fashionista Aptitude Survey”, so you can find out what you are really meant to do IN FASHION!
 
The book also includes a foreword by the fabulous Diane von Furstenburg, and is only $16.99! Needless to say, I have read this book cover to cover at least five times, and is very beneficial if, like me, you have big fashionista dreams.
 
xoxo, Shariki
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

